Landing Page Hero Image

ADAA Conference

Keynote Speakers & Jerilyn Ross Lecture

Keynote Speaker

Luci Baines Johnson

Additional Information to be provided.

Presidential Keynote

Karl Deisseroth, MD, PhD

Karl Deisseroth is the D.H. Chen Professor of Bioengineering and of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University, and Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. He received his undergraduate degree from Harvard, his PhD from Stanford, and his MD from Stanford. He also completed postdoctoral training, medical internship, and adult psychiatry residency at Stanford, and he is board-certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology. He continues as a practicing psychiatrist at Stanford with specialization in affective disorders and autism-spectrum disease, employing medications along with neural stimulation.

Over the last sixteen years, his laboratory created and developed optogenetics, hydrogel-tissue chemistry (beginning with CLARITY), and a broad range of enabling methods. He also has employed his technologies to discover the neural cell types and connections that cause adaptive and maladaptive behaviors, and has disseminated the technologies to thousands of laboratories around the world.

Among other honors, Deisseroth was the sole recipient for optogenetics of the 2010 Koetser Prize, the 2010 Nakasone Prize, the 2011 Alden Spencer Prize, the 2013 Richard Lounsbery Prize, the 2014 Dickson Prize in Science, the 2015 Keio Prize, the 2015 Lurie Prize, the 2015 Albany Prize, the 2015 Dickson Prize in Medicine, the 2017 Redelsheimer Prize, the 2017 Fresenius Prize, the 2017 NOMIS Distinguished Scientist Award, the 2018 Eisenberg Prize, the 2018 Kyoto Prize, and the 2020 Heineken Prize in Medicine from the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences. For his discoveries, Deisseroth has also received the Perl Prize (2012), the BRAIN prize (2013), the Pasarow Prize (2013), the Breakthrough Prize (2015) the BBVA Award (2016), the Massry Prize (2016) and the Harvey Prize from the Technion/Israel (2017). He was selected a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator in 2013, and was elected to the US National Academy of Medicine in 2010, to the US National Academy of Sciences in 2012, and to the US National Academy of Engineering in 2019.

Additional Information to be provided.

Jerilyn Ross Lecture

This special lecture honors the memory of Jerilyn Ross, one of ADAA’s founders and a pioneer in the mental health field. Jerilyn served as president and CEO for 25 years until her death in 2010. She was an ardent public advocate and clinician. Jerilyn had her first panic attack in her twenties, and she talked openly about feeling frightened and alone. After finding treatment, Jerilyn’s commitment to helping
others spurred the founding of ADAA. Her vision was to bring together clinicians, researchers, and patients in support of advancing science, treatment, and education. 

Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT): Science, Practice, Economics, and Politics

David M. Clark, DPhil CBE FBA FMedSci FAcSS HonFBPs

Dr. David Clark is Professor and Chair of Psychology at the University of Oxford and a National Clinical Adviser at the Department of Health. 

Dr. Clark is well-known for his research on the understanding and treatment of anxiety disorders, especially panic disorder, social anxiety disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder.

In 2000, Dr. Clark became Head of Psychology and co-founded the Center for Anxiety Disorders and Trauma at the Institute of Psychiatry and associated Maudsley Hospital along with fellow Oxford psychologists trauma-specialist Anke Ehlers, and OCD-specialist Paul Salkovskis.

Alongside economist Richard Layard, Dr. Clark was instrumental in the development and implementation of the Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT) program in 2003. IAPT has grown each year since 2008 and now sees over 1 million people each year. 

Dr. Clark has won numerous awards in the UK and the USA. In 2013, he was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the New Year Honours for services to mental health. Recognition of his work also includes Lifetime Achievement Awards from the British Psychological Society and the American Psychological Association.

In 2014, with Layard, he published the book Thrive: The Power of Evidence-Based Psychological Therapies, in which Dr. Clark demonstrates the potential value of the wider availability of modern talking therapies and argue for fresh policy approaches to how we think about and deal with mental illness.

Additional Information to be provided.