The Professional Education Committee promotes the investigation and implementation of empirically supported treatments and best practices across disciplines and career levels through the development of a cohesive ADAA professional education program for multi-multidisciplinary professionals. The Professional Education Committee (PrEC) is charged with oversight of all ADAA professional education offerings including ADAA webinars. The Committee also oversees the Clinical Fellows program which offers participants an exclusive learning opportunity to further their clinical training in anxiety, depression, and related disorders by participating in ADAA’s continuing education opportunities with the goal of providing quality patient care. 

Professional Education Committee Chair

Elizabeth DuPont Spencer, LCSW-C
Private Practice

Professional Education Committee Vice Chairs

Liza Bonin, PhD
Texas Children's Hospital

Nina Rifkind, LCSW, ACS
Wellspring Counseling

Board Liaison

Risa Weisberg, PhD – Board Liaison

Elizabeth DuPont Spencer, LCSW-C, Chair

Elizabeth Dupont Spencer 2017_0_0.jpgMs. Dupont Spencer is a licensed clinical social worker and Board approved supervisor. A Cognitive Behavioral Therapist using ERP for anxiety disorders, obsessive compulsive disorder and depression, she has been in private practice for twenty-five years, working with children, adolescents and adults. Ms. Dupont Spencer is a member of the International Obsessive Compulsive Foundation (IOCDF), the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) and the Anxiety and Depression Association of America (ADAA). She is a Clinical Fellow of the ADAA, Chair of the Professional Education Committee, and also received the 2012 Clinician Outreach Award and the 2017 Clinician of Distinction Award. Ms. Dupont Spencer is co-owner of with a mission to train clinician’s nation-wide in evidence-based treatments. Her private practice is in North Bethesda, Maryland. 

“Being Chair of the PrEC has been a natural progression for me in my involvement in ADAA, as I moved from being on another committee to this one when it was formed three years ago. I have been a member of ADAA for 25 years and was invited by my mentor to become involved early on. I am always amazed by what we ADAA members can do together on every committee I have been on, and I have met wonderful people as well. I invite you to become involved by helping us find great webinar topics and speakers. Nominate yourself or ask a non-member with a great topic to apply to give a webinar, and contact me if you have any suggestions for professional education.” 

Liza Bonin, PhD, Vice-Chair

lizabonin (2)_0.jpgDr. Liza Bonin is a clinical psychologist at Texas Children's Hospital who specializes in pediatric health anxiety and OCD. She is Associate Professor of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine and the Training Director for the Texas Children's Hospital Psychology Internship. Over the course of her tenure at Baylor and Texas Children's, Dr. Bonin has been actively involved in program development and administration; these activities led her to become a passionate advocate for quality in healthcare. She serves as Sub-Committee Chair for the Webinar Committee, has been on the leadership team for ADAA’s Child and Adolescent SIG, and is a Clinical Fellow of the ADAA. 

“I joined ADAA to advance my clinical practice skills and have the opportunity to partner with like-minded professionals who are committed to improving the quality of their work. My involvement with the Professional Education Committee allows me to contribute in a meaningful way to the quality of clinical practice through evidence-based professional education. My roles in ADAA have been professionally and personally fulfilling. I have come to know a great group of colleagues who are passionate about their practice and have amazing clinical expertise.” 

Nina Rifkind, LCSW, ACS, Vice-Chair 

Nina Rifkind_0_0.jpgMs. Rifkind has specialized in the evidenced-based treatment of Anxiety Disorders and OCD for more than 20 years. After graduating from Vassar College with a degree in Psychology, she pursued graduate studies in Psychology at the New School for Social Research, before receiving her Master’s in Clinical Social Work from Rutgers University. Ms. Rifkind is the owner of Wellspring Counseling in Northwest New Jersey, where she works with people of all ages, including children, adolescents and families. She is a graduate of the Pediatric BTTI through the International OCD Foundation, and an ADAA Clinical Fellow. 

“I became a member of ADAA and attended my first conference many years ago. I then decided to reconnect and become more active several years ago, when going full time with my private practice. I wanted a community that would foster continual growth in my areas of specialty and provide a network of expertise and professional distinction. I was thrilled to be asked to Vice Chair the Professional Education Committee last month. My enthusiasm for the Clinical Fellows Program made this a logical fit. I look forward to helping to grow the Committee, to continue, and build on the outstanding educational opportunities offered by ADAA and encourage many more professionals to learn more about the Clinical Fellows Program and consider the distinction of exhibiting a commitment to the most current, cutting edge research and treatments available.” 

Read the ADAA Committee Guidelines.

If you are interested in learning more about these committees and how you can be involved, please contact Susan Gurley, ADAA Executive Director.