The Honorable Amy Klobuchar **United States Senate**

425 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Susan Collins **United States Senate** 413 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senators Klobuchar and Collins:

The 49 undersigned organizations commend you for introducing the Conrad State 30 and Physician Access Reauthorization Act (S.665).

Regardless of geographic location, all patients deserve access to quality healthcare. Yet, the stark reality is that our country is facing a severe shortage of physicians in an expansive number of specialties. This lack of physicians is especially acute in rural and underserved communities. Thankfully, for nearly three decades the Conrad 30 waiver program has helped Americans in rural and underserved areas receive medical care from more than 15,000 high-quality international medical graduate (IMG) physicians in their local communities. A key part of the success of the current program is its flexible design that allows each state to customize the 30-waiver allocation to address its unique needs.

Continuation of this program is especially critical for specialties that train a high number of IMGs who come to the United States on J-1 visas to complete their residency. Without a Conrad 30 waiver, these visas require this category of IMGs to return to their country of origin for at least two years before applying for another visa or green card. The unfortunate byproduct of this restriction is an immediate prohibition on domestically trained IMGs practicing in our country that, in turn, jeopardizes their ability to ever practice in the United States in doubt. IMGs, however, play a vital role in providing greater access to health care for millions of patients, particularly in historically underserved communities who have also been hit hard by the recent global health care crisis.

Consequently, we strongly support that the Conrad State 30 and Physician Access Reauthorization Act would reauthorize this crucial program for three years, make several targeted policy improvements, and permit the gradual expansion of the number of waivers granted to each state. While this program was expanded from 20 to 30 slots once before, the number of waivers allocated to each state remained stagnant for the last two decades, despite our health care workforce shortage becoming more severe.

Reauthorizing and strengthening this program is one of many policy solutions to curtail the ongoing medical provider workforce challenges across the country and we look forward to working with you to see this important legislation enacted. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Kelly McCone, Senior Congressional Affairs Manager at the American Academy of Neurology at kmccone@aan.com.

Sincerely,

Alliance for Headache Disorders Advocacy

ALS Association

Ambulatory Surgery Center Association

American Academy of Family Physicians

American Academy of Home Care Medicine

American Academy of Neurology

American Academy of Pediatrics

American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

American Association of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine

American Brain Coalition

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

American College of Physicians

American College of Rheumatology

American College of Surgeons

American Gastroenterological Association

American Geriatrics Society

American Hospital Association

American Medical Association

American Psychiatric Association

American Society of Anesthesiologists

American Society of Neuroradiology

Anxiety and Depression Association of America

Association of American Medical Colleges

Association of University Professors of Neurology

Child Neurology Society

Cohen Veterans Bioscience

College of American Pathologists

Dystonia Medical Research Foundation

Epilepsy Association

Federation of American Hospitals

HD Reach

Hydrocephalus Association

M-CM Network

Miles for Migraine

National Ataxia Foundation

National Immigration Forum

National Organization for Tardive Dyskinesia

Niskanen Center

North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society (NANOS)

Parkinson's Foundation

Phelan-McDermid Syndrome Foundation

Physicians for American Healthcare Access

Public Affairs Alliance of Iranian Americans (PAAIA)

Society of Hospital Medicine
The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO)
The Headache and Migraine Policy Forum
The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research
The Society of Thoracic Surgeons