Jill-Harkavy-Friedman-websize.jpgJill Harkavy-Friedman, PhD
American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

Dr. Jill Harkavy-Friedman is the Vice President of Research and leads the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention’s research grant program to advance the field of suicide prevention. With 30 years of experience as a clinician and a researcher, she is passionate about translating research into practice, publishing over 100 peer-reviewed articles. She assists with AFSP’s development of programs and messages that reflect best practices and current research. She works with other national and international research organizations to help set the suicide prevention research agenda and encourage innovative research.
Harkavy-Friedman earned her B.A. in Psychology at the University of Pennsylvania and her PhD. in Clinical Psychology at the University of Florida. In 1984, she joined Montefiore Medical Center/Albert Einstein College of Medicine, establishing the Adolescent Depression and Suicide Program. In 1989, she moved to Columbia University/New York State Psychiatric Institute where she is an associate professor in the department of psychiatry.  She joined the staff AFSP in 2011. She maintains a clinical practice in Manhattan.


Member Recognition Award.jpg

The Public Education Committee

The focus of the Public Education Committee is to improve and expand public education and outreach about anxiety, depression and co-occurring disorders through webinars, blog posts, social media outreach and other collaborative educational projects. This year the committee, in collaboration with the Child and Adolescent SIG, has also created two helpful outreach tools  for ADAA clinical members to address a need often voiced by members: How can we inform parents and pediatricians about child anxiety?  

Members of the 2018 Public Education Committee include:

  • Debra Kissen, PhD - Co-Chair
  • Neal Sideman - Co-Chair
  • Karen Cassiday, PhD - Board Liaison
  • Jackie Bullis
  • Suma Chand, MPhil, PhD
  • Aarti Gupta, PhD
  • Sarah Knapp, MA
  • Eli Lebowitz, PhD
  • Karen Martinez, MSc, MD
  • Kathariya Mokrue, PhD
  • Catherine Pittman, PhD
  • Amy Przeworski, PhD
  • Lynne Siqueland, PhD
  • Andrea Umbach, PsyD
  • Melanie VanDyke, PhD
  • Jennice Vilhauer, PhD
  • Jenny Yip, PsyD