Board of Directors

Board News

September 9, 2021 - ADAA Opens Three Board Seats

The ADAA Board issued applications for three open board seats on September 9th. The selected candidates must be ADAA members in good standing and will start their term on January 1, 2022. Each seat is a two-year term. Per ADAA's Board bylaws, the nominating committee is comprised of three current Board members and two ADAA members who are not serving on the Board.

Per ADAA's board by-laws, the nominating committee for board seat applications must consist of three board members and two members in good standing. The nominating committee includes:

  • ADAA Board President Luana Marques, PhD
  • ADAA Board President Elect Charles Nemeroff, MD, PhD
  • ADAA Past President Beth Salcedo, MD
  • ADAA Member Carmela Alcantara, PhD
  • ADAA Member Mbemba Jabbi, PhD

Application submission is closed.



ADAA Stands Against Racism

June 4, 2020

The Anxiety and Depression Association of America’s (ADAA) mission is more critical than ever. Since ADAA’s founding 40 years ago, we have been committed to ensuring that everyone who struggles with an anxiety disorder, depression or PTSD can obtain the resources they need to live healthier and more productive lives. 
Over the last few months, we have seen that many of our poorest neighborhoods and communities of color have suffered disproportionately from the spread of COVID-19. Many of these same marginalized communities are also grappling with economic uncertainty, and now with the recent killing of George Floyd following so many other killings of African Americans, with increased mental health issues. ADAA’s mental health experts understand that exposure to these pervasive racial traumas and stressors are detrimental to one’s mental health. We also know that many people of color who suffer from mental health issues also experience less access to care and services.  Read the full statement here.

ADAA Welcomes New Board President Luana Marques, PhD - January 1, 2020

ADAA is pleased to announce that Luana Marques, PhD has assumed the role of President of the ADAA Board of Directors (BOD) effective January 1, 2020. Dr. Marques will serve a two-year term. Dr. Marques succeeds Beth Salcedo, MD, who served as ADAA BOD President from 2017-2019. Dr. Salcedo will now serve as Immediate Past Board Chair. Read more. 


About the Board

ADAA's Board of Directors oversee the long-term strategic plan for ADAA, enabling the organization to advance its mission, vision and strategic objectives. The Board of Directors actively helps guide, support and oversee ADAA’s activities—setting long-term goals and priorities for the Association and monitors ADAA’s strategic direction, fiscal health as well as its financial, administrative, and personnel policies. The ADAA Board provides governance and strategic direction to the overall organization. Board members reflect the highest standards of conduct and contribute their skills and resources to advance the mission of ADAA.

ADAA's Board of Directors is comprised of distinguished researchers, clinicians, and psychiatrists from across the United States and Canada who contribute a broad range of experience in patient care, academics and research. ADAA could not serve the public and mental health professional community without the dedication and commitment of these volunteers, many of whom have demanding full-time careers outside of the work they do for ADAA. To accomplish these tasks, the board meets frequently, with special meetings of Board subgroups convened as necessary. 

ADAA is governed by Bylaws, most recently updated in 2018. The Bylaws allow for not  less than 13 and not more than 17 ADAA Board members, and up to five honorary Board Members. Board members can serve up to three two- year terms. The Bylaws detail the Board selection processes. All individual ADAA board members provide financial support to the ADAA on an annual basis.

The Executive Committee (EC)  is comprised of the Board Chair (Luana Marques, PhD), the President Elect and Chief Medical Officer (Charles Nemeroff, MD, PhD), a Treasurer (Risa Weisberg, PhD), the Past President (Beth Salcedo, MD), and the Secretary, Sanjay Mathew, MD.

All EC members are members of the current ADAA Board and are elected by the Board. The President presides over all meetings of the board.

Current Board Members

LuanaMarques56_3_2.jpg Luana Marques, PhD
 ADAA President
Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School
Clinical Psychologist, Massachusetts General Hospital





Charles Nemeroff Head Shot 2016_2.jpgCharles Nemeroff, MD, PhD
ADAA Chief Medical Officer
Matthew P. Nemeroff Professor and Chair
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Mulva Clinic for the Neurosciences
Director, Institute of Early Life Adversity Research

Mary E. (Beth) Salcedo, MD 
Immediate Past President
The Ross Center 




Risa B. Weisberg, PhD 
VA Boston Healthcare System
Boston University School of Medicine



Sanjay Mathew_0.jpgSanjay Mathew, MD
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Baylor College of Medicine



Ken-Goodman-websize_3.jpgKen Goodman, LCSW
Private Practice - Los Angeles, CA



Paul Holtzheimer High Res 2018_1_0.JPGPaul Holtzheimer, MD
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
White River Junction VA Medical Center



Krystal Lewis, PhD
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)




Jovanovic_Tanja.jpgTanja Jovanovic, PhD
Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience
Wayne State University




Scott Rauch 2017_1.jpgScott Rauch, MD
President and Psychiatrist in Chief, McLean Hospital
Chair of Psychiatry and Mental Health, Partners Health Care System
Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School



Sheila Rauch, PhD
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta VA Medical Center




Helen Blair Simpson 2018 _0.jpgHelen Blair Simpson, MD, PhD
Columbia University Medical Center/New York State Psychiatric Institute




Stein-Murray2-sml_0.jpgMurray Stein, MD, MPH — ex officio
University of California, San Diego





Martin P. Paulus, MD  — ex officio
Laureate Institute for Brain Research




Current Honorary Board Member

Michael Gleason
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Consumer Brands, LLC

Past Honorary Board Members

Executive Committee

Luana Marques, PhD
Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital

Charles Nemeroff, MD, PhD
ADAA Chief Medical Officer
Professor and Chair of Psychiatry
Director, Institute for Early Life Adversity Research
Dell Medical School, The University of Texas at Austin

Mary E. (Beth) Salcedo, MD
Immediate Past President
The Ross Center for Anxiety & Related Disorders

Risa B. Weisberg, PhD 
VA Boston Healthcare System
Boston University School of Medicine

Sanjay Mathew, MD
Harvard Medical School

Past Board Presidents

Mary E. (Beth) Salcedo, MD
Immediate Past President
The Ross Center for Anxiety & Related Disorders



Karen L. Cassiday, PhD - Clinical Director and Owner, The Anxiety Treatment Center




mark-pollack-psychiatry (1)_0.jpgMark H. Pollack, MD - Chairman, Department of Psychiatry, Rush University Medical Center




Terence Keane Oct 2018 (002)_0.jpgTerrence M. Keane, PhD - Director, Behavior Science Division, National Center for PTSD




rosenbarum-150x150_0.jpgJerry Rosenbaum, MD - Chief of Psychiatry at MGH, Stanley Cobb Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School




Jerilyn Ross_recent photo (2)_0.jpgJerilyn Ross, LCSW - Founder of ADAA
Tribute to Jerilyn Ross




Robert Dupont, MD - 1st President of ADAA
Institute for Behavior and Health, Maryland