Scientific Council Members

Full Scientific Council Members List

Victoria Risbrough, PhD - Chair
University of California San Diego

Diego Pizzagalli, PhD - Vice Chair
McLean Hospital/Harvard Medical School

James Abelson, MD, PhD
University of Michigan

Anne Marie Albano, PhD, ABPP
Columbia University

Gordon J.G. Asmundson, PhD
University of Regina-Regina Health District

James C. Ballenger, MD — Emeritus

Jeremy Coplan, MD
SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Edward Craighead, MD
Emory University

Michelle Craske, PhD
University of California, Los Angeles

Kathleen Delaney, PhD, PMH-NP, FAAN
Rush University Medical Center

Darin Dougherty, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital

Norah Feeny, PhD
Case Western Reserve University

Edna Foa, PhD
University of Pennsylvania

Brendan Gibb, PhD
Binghamton University, SUNY

Andrew W. Goddard, MD
Monterey County

Wayne Goodman, MD
Baylor College of Medicine

Richard Heimberg, PhD
Temple University

John Hettema, MD, PhD
Texas A&M health Science Center College of Medicine

Dina Hirshfeld-Becker, PhD
Massachusetts General Hospital

Stefan G. Hofmann, PhD
Boston University

Elizabeth Hoge, MD
Georgetown University Hospital

Eric Hollander, MD   
Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Paul Holtzheimer, MD
Dartmouth–Hitchcock Medical Center

Ned Kalin, MD
University of Wisconsin

Terence M. Keane, PhD
National Center for PTSD/Boston VA Healthcare System/
Boston University School of Medicine

Ronald C. Kessler, PhD
Harvard Medical School

Joseph LeDoux, PhD — Emeritus
New York University

Michael R. Liebowitz, MD
Medical Research Network

Alison C. McLeish, PhD
University of Louisville

Douglas S. Mennin, PhD 
Teachers College, Columbia University

Alicia Meuret, PhD
Southern Methodist University

Charles B. Nemeroff, MD, PhD
Dell Medical School/The University of Texas at Austin

Fugen Neziroglu, PhD, ABPP  
Bio-Behavioral Institute, NY

Thomas Ollendick, PhD
Virginia Tech

Martin Paulus, MD
Laureate Institute for Brain Research

Katharine A. Phillips, MD
Weill Cornell Medical College

John Piacentini, PhD
University of California, Los Angeles

Daniel S. Pine, MD
National Institute of Mental Health

Mark H. Pollack, MD
Myriad Neuroscience

Mark H. Rapaport, MD
The University of Utah/Huntsman Mental Health Institute

Scott Rauch, MD
McLean Hospital

Sheila Rauch, PhD
Emory University School of Medicine

Kerry Ressler, MD, PhD
McLean Hospital, Harvard Medical School

Jerrold F. Rosenbaum, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital

Barbara O. Rothbaum, PhD, ABPP
Emory University School of Medicine

Franklin Schneier, MD
New York State Psychiatric Institute

M. Katherine Shear, MD
Columbia University

Naomi Simon, MD, MSc
New York University Grossman School of Medicine 

H. Blair Simpson, MD, PhD
The Center for OCD and Related Disorders at Columbia University

Jasper Smits, PhD
The University of Texas at Austin

Jordan W. Smoller, MD, ScD
Massachusetts General Hospital

Noam Soreni, MD
McMaster University

Murray B. Stein, MD, MPH
University of California, San Diego

Michael Telch, PhD
The University of Texas at Austin

Michael Edward Thase, MD
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Michael Van Ameringen MD FRCPC
McMaster University

Karen Wagner, MD, PhD
University of Texas

John Walkup, MD
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago

Risa Weisberg, PhD
VA Boston Healthcare System

Myrna M. Weissman, PhD
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons

Julie Wetherell, PhD
University of California, San Diego

Sabine Wilhelm, PhD
Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School

Lori Zoellner, PhD
University of Washington

About the Scientific Council

This ADAA Scientific Council (SC) is comprised of mid- and senior-level basic and clinical researchers committed to the organization. The purpose of the SC is to contribute scientific expertise and mentorship, actively grow membership and encourage participation among colleagues, students and fellows, and volunteer to participate in projects that maintain ADAA’s leading edge in research, dissemination, treatment and advocacy.

Applicants must be current ADAA members at the rank or equivalent of associate professor or higher. Candidates should be active in ADAA, present at the conference, and participate in review and other committees. Individuals may apply or be nominated to serve a four-year term. To accomplish ADAA’s mission, it is critical that members of the Scientific Council participate and are visible at the conference by presenting and mentoring as well as encouraging colleagues to join and attend the conference, publish in Depression & Anxiety, and respond to queries for expert input on relevant issues about research needs, funding and priorities. 

SC members are expected to meet the following minimum responsibilities and renewal on the Council will be evaluated based on participation:

  • Maintain annual professional membership throughout term
  • Participate in the Scientific Council meeting held at the conference at least twice during four-year term
  • Attend one ADAA Annual Conference at least twice during four-year term
  • Advance ADAA’s scientific mission through active service.  Individuals can meet this annual commitment in several ways (minimum of two):
    • Review research submissions for the Annual Conference (late September)
    • Review poster submissions for the Annual Conference (late November/early December)Serve on the Scientific Research Symposium subcommittee
    • Serve as a mentor for award winners at the conference, including but 
    • Participate in a SC initiatives such as development of scientific content for the ADAA website (i.e. blog posts, trends in clinical practice, response statements for the media)
    • Chair a Standing Committee, Special Interest Group or Conference Sub-Committee